Minimize Risk

If you fear that someone may be monitoring your internet usage, please consider clearing your browser history. The guide below will help you. Note that methods for clearing browser history vary, depending upon which internet browser you are using.

 Internet Explorer (8+)

  First, select the Delete Browsing History option in the Safety menu (within Tools). This will allow you to delete the entire browser history of your current IE. You may        also opt to leave selected websites and their associated web pages untouched, using the Preserve Favorites check box. Select the Info category that you wish to    preserve, and when you finally select delete, the browser will erase everything except the ones that you have selected. Take note that a new user profile might be required if this option does not work on a freshly updated Internet Explorer 9.

 Firefox

  For Firefox Browsers, access the Clear Recent History, which can be found under the Tools (Alt, then T) option, or by clicking the “Undo” button found near the Add-ons tab (for later versions). By selecting a specific time range, you can widen and shorten the number of browsing entries to be deleted, from one hour ago, to all of the entries made for the whole day. There should also be a Details option to specify further the type of pages to be erased from history (similar to IE’s Preserve Favorites feature) though it is no longer present on more updated versions.

Safari

Deleting browser history in Safari (OS X version) is as intuitive as Internet Explorer, with a few added alternative options seen on Firefox. To access this, simply go to Safari, and select Clear History and Website Data. You’ll then be prompted with selecting a time frame where all of the respective browser history entries will be removed. There are no detailed deletion options, unfortunately, but Safari at least allows you to also remotely clear browser history entries of any other Mac or iOS device registered with the same account.

Chrome

Finally, for those using Chrome browsers (PC version), you first need to access the History option from the main menu (upper right corner button). Then, by clicking the Clear Browsing Data button, you are given a menu to select a deletion time frame and a set of data types that you want to be removed. You can then proceed to clear browsing history once you’re done. Alternatively, you can delete the entire browsing history of your Chrome browser by simply selecting the Beginning of Time option for its time frame.Image Properties

 

Please note that some of these pointers might require slight modifications depending on the version you are using.